Getting Up to Speed

Ah… it’s nice to have a new place to share my projects. Here’s what I’m working on at the moment:

Sewing:

I’m muddling through a dress at the moment. I’ve made a lot of changes to the pattern, mixing View D of Vogue 8766 with a Burda dress from the 12/2012 magazine. This is (gasp!) the first time I’ve made a muslin for any dress I’ve attempted. This  is mainly due to the pattern changes I’m making, but also because the fabric is Magee Tweed and therefore very expensive. (I honestly don’t know what I was thinking when I bought it – €40 pm?! – but it is really nice.)

The skirt part of the dress needs a lot of alteration, and I’m sort of stuck at that point at the moment. There’s really nothing exciting about altering a muslin.

Crochet:

I attempted a beautiful cardigan last winter, and it did not go well. I frogged it completely. Now that time has dulled my frustrations I’m going to start it again. 🙂  Here it is on Ravelry. (The pattern is from Nicki Trench’s book, Geek Chic Crochet, which I’d recommend.)

Bookbinding:

I finished this hardcover coptic-bound journal yesterday…

Coptic Notebook

… and I’ll be finishing off a matching partner for it today. And, you know, taking proper non-Instagram photos of them.

Also, I think it’s time I made my first tutorial. Watch this space!

You can also visit my old blog, The Dry Well, to see a few projects I’ve already made.

Leave a Reply

